3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 2

Hello again my dears! I am just scraping in on day 2 with five minutes until midnight – I was woken up this morning by my house shaking from a magnitude 5.2 earthquake, and have been a bit anxious ever since and therefore not very productive! But I promise not to waste 600 words before getting to the point today. Here is my favourite quote from one of my favourite films of all time – The History Boys. My best friend and I “studied” for our history scholarship exam in high school by watching this film on repeat while stuffing our faces with pancakes. Needless to say, neither of us passed, but I still think we were the true winners that day. Here is the glorious quote, in GIF form for extra gloriousness (kindly take your red scribbly underline elsewhere you dastardly spell-check, this is my blog and I shall decide whether “gloriousness” is a word, not you. Rude).

It seems I’m not allowed to add a caption, so I’ll just say here that the GIF source is SlowRobot. Just in case you’re blind like me, here’s a larger version:

“The best moments in reading are when you come across something – a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things – that you’d thought special, particular to you. And here it is, set down by someone else, a person you’ve never met, maybe even someone long dead. And it’s as if a hand has come out, and taken yours.”

Lovely, and so true. If you haven’t seen The History Boys, you absolutely must – I could quote it endlessly if I wasn’t limited to one quote per day.

Today I nominate:

  1. PlvsticFlowers
  2. AskTateBlog
  3. LadyVigilante

As always, no obligation to participate!

All my love and thanks for reading,

sig

3 thoughts on “3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 2

Leave a Reply

