Calm-The-Flipping-Heck-Down Chocolate Chunk Cookies

(Or more accurately, “Cookie Chunk Chocolates”. My cookie:chocolate ratio is a tad skewed).

13023509_10153944114606154_1598599681_n - CopyHello again folks! Today’s long-winded title was inspired by a very, VERY flustered Francesca this morning. Why? Because I went to a job interview. An actual, real, legit job interview, for an actual, real, legit job. And if it wasn’t for my downright darling cat, I would have missed it. I slept through my alarm, as usual, but her insistent scratching on my door eventually woke me up exactly 25 minutes before I had to be on the other side of town. I made it to the interview, tried to pretend I hadn’t literally just got out of bed (messy hair is fashionable these days, right? Right?!), fluffed my way through it, then came home to mix my shattered nerves into cookie batter and subject them to extreme heat in the hopes that they would bugger off. Aaaaand they kinda did. Once you’ve eaten seven cookies in a row there isn’t a lot of room leftover for post-interview jitters. And thus, “Calm-The-Flipping-Heck-Down Chocolate Chunk Cookies” were born.

This is my absolute favourite go-to recipe for deliciously gooey, chewy cookies. I have no idea where I got it from originally as I know it by heart, but I do know I got it from the internet. So if anyone wants to claim credit, please be my guest.

Right, enough waffling – to the recipe!

Ingredients:

P1150356

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 whole egg and 1 yolk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla essence
  • 2 cups chocolate chips (or, if you’re anything like me, just a massive amount of chocolate chunks. The more better).

The Pathway to Deliciousness:

1. Preheat oven to 165°C (330°F).

2. Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.

3. In a separate bowl beat the sugars, butter, egg + yolk, and vanilla, until thick and creamy.

4. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix thoroughly, then chuck in whatever ridiculous amount of chocolate you feel like. I like to use milk and white chocolate, but just do whatever you like best.

P1150369

Pretty sure there’s more chocolate than batter. I have no problem with this.

5. Roll heaped tablespoons of the dough into balls, and place on an ungreased baking tray. Make sure you get a good bunch of chocolate in each ball! There is nothing more soul-destroying than biting into a “chocolate chip” cookie, only to be met with a mouthful of disappointment.

6. Bake for about 11 – 15 minutes, depending on how well-cooked you like them. I prefer to take mine out when they’re just a tad undercooked, so they’re nice and chewy in the centre. I also squash mine a little bit with a spatula as soon as they come out, as I find it makes them more chewy.

7. Invite all your glamorous friends over for a dainty afternoon tea and make charming, erudite conversation while you nibble delicately at a freshly baked cookie. Or, eat all of them at once, by yourself, on the floor, slumped against the oven, out of sight from scavenging housemates, and wipe the chocolatey evidence from your face with your apron before they notice.

I personally prefer option 2 but it’s your call.

P1150394

Is there any better comfort food in the world than a freshly baked cookie? I think not.

If you have a faithful cookie recipe I’d love to try it out – this is my favourite so far but I am always open to the idea that a better recipe might exist!

Hope you enjoyed this post, and that you’ve had a lovely day.

Thanks for reading,

All my love,

sig

11 thoughts on “Calm-The-Flipping-Heck-Down Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Leave a Reply

